Round Way Trip

I died

In a ditch on the side

Of a road.

In a rotten forgotten land,

And on my way out of this body,

I saw the dirty soul waters piled up.

And up I went, up.

Good-bye they beamed,

And when I got to heaven

It was empty but me.

And I bowed and I begged

For the return trip

And down I came.

Back to the muck and mud

And the sick and stained

And the famine and the fear

And the blood and burns

And the dry death of burning bullets

And the poor pain of somber streets

And I smiled and I cried,

I’m back on Earth,

My home in hell.

Leave a Reply

